Biography

Portrait de Claire Deleurme

In the studio – Claire in residence at the Corning Museum of Glass – Spring 2016 – Photo: Gary L. Hodges for the CMOG

Claire Deleurme is a young visual artist. Initially trained at the Fine Arts College of Quimper, she first worked coordinating artistic workshops while she let her ideas mature. A defining moment at the Beaux-Arts was her encounter with the printmaking teacher, who sharpened her interest in prints and in paper. Another important step was a year abroad at UQAM (University of Quebec in Montreal), where she confirmed her sculptural bent.

In 2012, she decided to enroll in a 2-year training program at CERFAV (European Center for Research and Training in Glasswork). And it was through pâte de verre (molten glass) that she returned to her main material. She then spent 6 months in Finland studying at the Ikaalinen College of Crafts and Design.

New collections were unveiled in the US during a residence at the Corning Museum of Glass. These works have been exhibited in France and internationally including Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Sweden and the United Kingdom. Claire Deleurme has worked, studied and taught in France, Canada, Finland and the United States.

Few months ago, she moved her studio in Montreal in Canada. She is currently working on the Chapter 5: Identity from her project “Silent Language” with a French grant from DRAC Bretagne.

Comments are closed.

Biographie

Portrait de Claire Deleurme

A l’atelier – Claire en résidence au Corning Museum of Glass – printemps 2016 – Photo : Gary L. Hodges pour le CMOG

Initialement formée à l’école des Beaux-arts de Quimper, Claire Deleurme, jeune plasticienne intervenante, a un temps laissé mûrir ses propres créations pour animer des ateliers artistiques. De son parcours aux Beaux-arts, elle retient la rencontre avec son professeur d’Estampe qui affine son intérêt pour le papier et l’impression. Ainsi que l’année passée à l’Université du Québec à Montréal où elle affirme sa pratique sculpturale.

En 2012, elle décide de se former au Centre Européen de Recherches et Formation aux Arts Verriers (CERFAV) pendant deux ans. C’est alors par la technique de la pâte de verre qu’elle renoue avec la matière. Elle réside ensuite 6 mois en Finlande où elle poursuit sa formation au « College of Crafts and Design » de Ikaalinen.

De nouvelles séries de pièces ont vu le jour aux États-Unis lors de sa résidence au Corning Museum of Glass. Ses œuvres ont été exposées en France et internationalement notamment en République tchèque, au Danemark, en Finlande, en Suède et au Royaume-Uni. Claire Deleurme a travaillé, étudié et enseigné en France, au Canada, en Finlande et aux Etats-Unis.

Depuis quelques mois, elle a installé son atelier à Montréal au Canada. Ses recherches se portent en ce moment sur le chapitre 5 : Identités de son projet « Les Langages Silencieux » soutenu par une bourse française de la DRAC Bretagne.

Les commentaires sont clos.